Home » Uncategorized » The Bread of Life

The Bread of Life

I am going to be honest here. This won’t surprise those closest to me, but I tend to lean toward rebellion. If someone tells me that I have to do something, even if I intended to do it anyhow, I push back. I have been like this since the beginning of time and I know when I am doing it. It is a struggle. So, if I see this and recognize it, why is it so hard to change?

The Israelites were a rebellious people. God bailed them out over and over again. He parted the sea. He guided them with cloud and fire. He provided water from a rock. They still did not trust Him. They did not believe in God’s promises, returned to their sin, and yet demanded more. “In spite of all this, they kept on sinning; in spite of his wonders, they did not believe.” Psalm 78:32 God was merciful. He continued to lead His people through the wilderness. He gave them “the grain of heaven.” All of their needs were provided for and yet they rebelled.

Israel continued in that rebellion. They wanted a king and God obliged. Saul ruled for a time, but God had plans for that nation – David. “but he chose the tribe of Judah…from tending the sheep he brought him to be the shepherd of his people Jacob, of Israel his inheritance. And David shepherded them with integrity of heart.” Psalm 78:68, 71-72 It turns out that David would not be the only king to come out of Judah. “But you, Bethlehem Ephrathah, though you are small among the clans of Judah, out of you will come for me one who will be ruler of Israel,…” Micah 5:2 Bethlehem.

Bethlehem literally means “house of bread.” How significant is that! Out of Bethlehem, the house of bread, came Jesus, the Bread of Life. So, just as God provided manna, the grain of heaven, for the rebellious Israelites, He has provided Jesus for a rebellious world. “Then Jesus declared, “I am the bread of life. Whoever comes to me will never go hungry, and whoever believes in me will never be thirsty.””

Lord, help me to always follow you and not in the footsteps of the rebellious Israelites. Thank you for your mercy and forgiveness when I fall short. Thank you for the provision that you have given me in your Son, Jesus.

Leave a comment